Alberta Native Plant Council

Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Call for Volunteers – Board of Director’s Positions

If you are passionate about native plants, ecosystems and their long-term sustainability and have experience coordinating people and projects, then the Alberta Native Plant Council (ANPC) Society’s Board of Directors wants you!
The Board of Directors plays a critical role in the success of the ANPC organization. By helping to maintain ANPC as an organization, your participation on the Board will provide the foundation upon which to implement education and conservation initiatives. ANPC volunteers provide crucial support to the ANPC as it works to advance the understanding of native plants and ecosystems in Alberta.

February 2023 Volunteer Call-out!

It is that time of year again where selected Board positions will be up for election or re-election. The following positions will be voted on at our Annual General Meeting on April 22, 2023:

    1. President – incumbent Kristen Andersen has agreed to run for re-election
    2. Director-at-large – incumbent, Laurie Hamilton, not running for re-election, position available

ANPC thanks Laurie Hamilton for their contributions to the organization and wishes her the best in her next adventures.
Director terms are two years. The role involves attending monthly meetings (2.5 hours/meeting) with a break in the ‘growing season’ plus time for any other ANPC activity that you want to pursue. No experience as a botanist or Board member is required, as we have an amazing orientation/onboarding/leadership program.
If you are interested in learning more, please contact ANPC at

ANPC has both elected and non-elected positions, as well as special projects. The following represents a complete list of the positions. For more information please contact us at


IMGP7162sElected Positions

Southern Director
Northern Director
Central Director
NA Director

Non-elected Positions

Past – President
Membership Secretary
Rare Plants Committee
Information and Education Committee
Conservation Action Committee
Reclamation and Horticulture




ANPC, Box 52099 Garneau Postal Outlet, Edmonton AB T6G2T5  ;   ; All content copyright ANPC 2023