About Us

The Council’s specific objectives are:
  • To educate individuals, industry, and government about native plants.
  • To promote awareness of native plant issues through a newsletter, an annual workshop, and in the media.
  • To co-ordinate information and activities concerning Alberta’s native plants.
    • To develop briefs or position papers for special projects; for example, biodiversity, forest vegetation management, wetlands, rare species or phenology.
    • To organize field trips and plant study groups.
    • To update lists of current research and conservation projects.
  • To preserve natural habitats and plant communities.
    • To support legislation that protects native plants.
    • To take action to establish, preserve and manage protected areas.
    • To undertake Alberta projects jointly with groups such as the Nature Conservancy of Canada
  • To encourage appropriate use of Alberta’s native plants.
    • To produce information on the use of native plants in land reclamation.
    • To develop and distribute collection, salvage and management guidelines.
    • To update a list of native seed sources and suppliers for horticulture and reclamation.

The ANPC Position Holders for 2017-2018 are:

Leslie Monetleone
Vice-president: vacant
Treasurer: Julie Figures
Secretary: (interim) Jen Muir

Central Director:
Tony Blake
Northern Director: Marsha Hayward
Southern Director: Christina Metke
Nature Alberta: Kim Mackenzie

Conservation Action:
Laurie Hamilton
Information and Education/Outreach: Kristen Andersen
Newsletter Committee: Melanie Violette
Rare Plant Committee: Leslie Monteleone
Reclamation and Restoration:

Kelly Ostermann
Website: Carole Dodd
Social Media: Cam Johnson
Foothills Restoration Forum Representative: Dayle Soppet

Big Sagebrush (PNT):
 Anna Mozolik and Wendy Ryan
Clyde Fen: Derek Johnson & Joelyn Kozar
Whitehorse Wildlands PP: Kristen Andersen
Nisku Prairie: Patsy Cotterill

Please feel free to contact any of us at info@anpc.ab.ca with the name of the person you would like to contact in the subject heading.

The Council has four active committees:

Education and Information
Disseminates information on native flora; produces displays; runs field trips and courses; co-ordinates activities with other environmental groups.
Rare Plants
Conducts life history studies; monitors populations; sets priority lists for rare plants; assists with populating the rare plant data bank, maintained by the Alberta Conservation Information Managment System (ACIMS).
Restoration and Reclamation
Compiles guidelines for defining and collecting native plants; produces lists of native seed and nursery stock suppliers; provides reclamation information to interested groups.
Conservation Action
Protects rare Alberta species and habitats by: directing public attention to pressing issues; assist in preparing COSEWIC status reports on rare, threatened or endangered species for national listing; gaining stewardship of natural areas; monitoring how habitats are affected by development.

To view the ANPC By-laws, click here.


ANPC, Box 52099 Garneau Postal Outlet, Edmonton AB T6G2T5    info@anpc.ab.ca    All content copyright ANPC 2018